Home » Schools » Hoover High School

Rated One Of Best High Schools In Ohio, Hoover Propels Students To Bright Futures

525 7th St NE, North Canton, OH 44720-2012

Hoover High School is the culminating educational experience for North Canton students, the place where teens gain knowledge and perspective to help them succeed in their transition to adult life.

Our strong academics programs deliver today’s critical skills to our students as they move on to their young adult life after high school. They graduate with a competitive advantage, better equipped to continue education in college, enter a career or go on to serve our country in the military. Ranked as one of the best high schools in Ohio and in the nation (by US News & World Report), Hoover High School also offers strong sports, arts and extracurricular experiences.

Hoover High School is aptly described as a campus. The school building itself is part of a 43-acre campus. It includes a combined academics and technology building with:

  • Sports arena
  • State-of-the-art production-level fabrication lab
  • Exciting iSpaces
  • Tennis courts
  • Memorial Stadium (football, baseball, track, lacrosse)
  • Physical education complex
  • Cross country course
  • Varsity and practice soccer fields, softball fields, and junior varsity/practice lacrosse field.

Regardless of students’ interests, it’s almost certain Hoover has programs and activities to inspire and inform. Our innovative educational environment is modeled after some of today’s top universities. With those as our inspiration, Hoover is producing some great results:

  • Hoover was recognized in April 2014 by the Washington Post as one of America’s Most Challenging High Schools (based on number of AP exams taken in 2013.)
  • We offer 17 Advanced Placement college level courses taught by 18 highly trained AP teachers. The rigorous AP curriculum prepares students for college level work while providing them the opportunity to earn college credit by assessing their proficiency at the end of the course. During a typical academic year, we administer approximately 700 AP exams.
  • We offer 46 honors level courses ranging from the core subjects to career preparation programs and world languages.
  • We offer 5 Dual Enrollment college level courses. Students can earn college credits without ever leaving Hoover High School.

North Canton City Schools is developing stronger students every day. We invite you to tour the high school and campus to see how your family can be Viking Strong, too. If you would like to schedule a tour or discuss registration, please email us or call 330-497-5620. Enrollment is open to North Canton residents or by tuition arrangement.

 Visit our Department of Transportation (Bus Garage) page for Hoover High School bus routes.

Phone: 330-497-5620

Contacts

Associate Princpal
Henry Householder - View Bio
househ@northcantonschools.org
Associate Principal
Tom Oakes - View Bio
tro1nc@northcantonschools.org
Associate Principal
Robert White - View Bio
whiter@northcantonschools.org
Hoover High School Attendance Secretary
Kathleen Wolff
wolffk@northcantonschools.org
Main Office Secretary
Kim Mulheim
kjm1nc@northcantonschools.org
secretary
Patti Hare
pah1nc@northcantonschools.org
School Counselor
Brian Girdlestone - View Bio
bjg1nc@northcantonschools.org
School Counselor
Tamie Eynon - View Bio
eynont@northcantonschools.org
Hoover HS counselor E-K
Annie Moore - View Bio
moorea@northcantonschools.org
School Counselor
Amy Myers - View Bio
myersa@northcantonschools.org
School Counselor at Hoover High School
Crystal Ake - View Bio
akec@northcantonschools.org
Breakfast Menu Lunch Menu

Calendar of Events

03-29-2017
Spring Break
03-30-2017
Spring Break
03-31-2017
Spring Break
View Complete Calendar

Faculty

Travis Ackerman - View Bio
Math Teacher
jta1nc@northcantonschools.org
Todd Alkire - View Bio
Engineering Instructor
tda1nc@northcantonschools.org
Andrew Arnold - View Bio
Social Studies Teacher
arnolda@northcantonschools.org
Elaine Barkan - View Bio
Supervisor, Gifted Education
barkane@northcantonschools.org
Mary Bartels
H.S. Security Desk/Monitor
mlb1nc@northcantonschools.org
Karen Beuoy
Monitor
beuoyk@northcantonschools.org
Shawn Billker
Social studies teacher, assistant varsity football coach and assistant ski club adviser.
billkers@northcantonschools.org
Gary Bodenschatz - View Bio
Interactive Media Teacher
gfb1nc@northcantonschools.org
Alberta Bowman - View Bio
Social Studies Teacher and Social Studies Department Chair
atb1nc@northcantonschools.org
Dominic Boyle - View Bio
Physical Science, Integrated Environmental Science
boyled@northcantonschools.org
Melanie Bridges - View Bio
Grade 9 English Teacher
msb2nc@northcantonschools.org
Jack Bunnenberg - View Bio
English 10, 11
jrb1nc@northcantonschools.org
Dave Burtscher - View Bio
Teacher
dab1nc@northcantonschools.org
Doug Burwell - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher
dbb1nc@northcantonschools.org
Rebecca Callihan - View Bio
Teacher of the Deaf
callihanr@northcantonschools.org
Susan Cammel - View Bio
American Sign Language (ASL) Teacher, ASL Club Advisor
sjc1nc@northcantonschools.org
Dan Campanaro - View Bio
Social Studies Teacher; Co -Dept Chair/Soc Stds
dwc2nc@northcantonschools.org
Kristen Chiarappa - View Bio
Intervention Specialist
chiarappak@northcantonschools.org
Rashmi Chopra - View Bio
Social studies teacher
rc1nc@northcantonschools.org
Tina Cindea - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher - Department Chair of Mathematics
tmc1nc@northcantonschools.org
Casey Clark - View Bio
Teacher
clarkc@northcantonschools.org
Scott Colles - View Bio
Science Teacher
colless@northcantonschools.org
Angela Combs - View Bio
Medical Technology Teacher
combsa@northcantonschools.org
Sarah Covington - View Bio
Teacher
sdc1nc@northcantonschools.org
Melissa Csak - View Bio
Biology Teacher
csakm@northcantonschools.org
Glenn Cummings - View Bio
Teacher
Darlene Dague
Monitor
dagued@northcantonschools.org
Malissa Dalton - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher
mms2nc@northcantonschools.org
Kelleen Davis - View Bio
Family & Consumer Sciences teacher
kad1nc@northcantonschools.org
Ashley Dennerlein - View Bio
Physical Education/ Health Education Teacher
dennerleina@northcantonschools.org
Timothy Detweiler - View Bio
Intervention Specialist
detweilert@northcantonschools.org
Shirley Dobry - View Bio
Teacher and Lead Professional Educator
sad1nc@northcantonschools.org
Ann Dolvin - View Bio
Spanish Teacher & Spanish Club Advisor
ald1nc@northcantonschools.org
Kathy Draher
Monitor
kld1nc@northcantonschools.org
James Draher - View Bio
Social Studies Teacher
draherj@northcantonschools.org
Debra Drukenbrod
Monitor
drukend@northcantonschools.org
Ashley Elias - View Bio
English Teacher
eliasa@northcantonschools.org
Lindsay Ellis - View Bio
Special Education Teacher
ellisl@northcantonschools.org
Cherie Ford - View Bio
Intervention Specialist/ Individual Small Group Instructor
fordc@northcantonschools.org
Steven Fricke - View Bio
School Psychologist
frickes@northcantonschools.org
Nick Gamble - View Bio
Math Teacher
npg1nc@northcantonschools.org
Danielle Garfield - View Bio
English Teacher and Junior Class Advisor
garfieldd@northcantonschools.org
Tim Goodman - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher
goodmant@northcantonschools.org
Michael Grady - View Bio
Business Management Teacher. College Credit Plus (Business and Entrepreneurship)
gradym@northcantonschools.org
Marc Gramley - View Bio
Science Teacher
gramleym@northcantonschools.org
Tamela Grandjean - View Bio
Art Teacher
tsg1nc@northcantonschools.org
Karen Greenwood - View Bio
German Teacher
greenwoodk@northcantonschools.org
Patricia Grewell - View Bio
Vocal Music Director
pmg1nc@northcantonschools.org
David Grimm - View Bio
High School Math Teacher
dvg1nc@northcantonschools.org
Kolbie Haines - View Bio
Visual Arts Teacher
hainesk@northcantonschools.org
Jessica Haines - View Bio
Chemistry Teacher
jkg1nc@northcantonschools.org
Sue Hineman - View Bio
Study Hall Monitor
hinemans@northcantonschools.org
Amanda Humphrey - View Bio
Business Teacher
humphreya@northcantonschools.org
Ben Janchar - View Bio
Science Teacher
baj1nc@northcantonschools.org
Courtney Jeans - View Bio
ISGI
jeansc@northcantonschools.org
Matthew Johnsen - View Bio
English XII* and English 103 Teacher, Swim Coach
mkj1nc@northcantonschools.org
Michael Johnson - View Bio
English teacher
msj1nc@northcantonschools.org
Lindsay Johnson - View Bio
profesora
mayl@northcantonschools.org
Christopher Kallai - View Bio
Construction Tech Teacher
kallaic@northcantonschools.org
Carrie Keith - View Bio
Chemistry and Physics Teacher
clk3nc@northcantonschools.org
Troy Kozee - View Bio
Teacher, Bringer of Good Cheer
tdk1nc@northcantonschools.org
Jeff Kreis - View Bio
Algebra II, College Credit Plus (Dual Credit) Honors Precalculus, AP Calculus, Math Club, Fellowship of Christian Students
jjk1nc@northcantonschools.org
Jill Lauter
Head Cook ~ Kitchen Manager
lauterj@northcantonschools.org
Gretchen Leckie-Ewing - View Bio
teacher
gal1nc@northcantonschools.org
Jennifer Manion - View Bio
Teacher
jdh1nc@northcantonschools.org
Lauren Maxwell - View Bio
Principles of Engineering and Engineering Development and Design Instructor, Women in Engineering Advisor
Lindsay McCann - View Bio
ELA Teacher
mccannl@northcantonschools.org
Janice McCarthy - View Bio

jmm1nc@northcantonschools.org
Timothy McCarty - View Bio
Instructor | Video Production I, II, III
mccartyt@northcantonschools.org
Lindsay McCorcle - View Bio

mccorclel@northcantonschools.org
Allison Medley - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher
medleya@northcantonschools.org
Gina Mogus - View Bio
Spanish Teacher
gem1nc@northcantonschools.org
Vicki Mooney - View Bio
American Sign Language (ASL) Teacher, ASL Club Advisor
vlm1nc@northcantonschools.org
Becky Mulcahey - View Bio
Individual Small Group Instructor/Inclusion teacher
bzm1nc@northcantonschools.org
David Neitzelt - View Bio
Intervention Specialist
neitzeltd@northcantonschools.org
Bruce Nist - View Bio
Technical Director/Teacher
nistb@northcantonschools.org
Jan Noussias - View Bio
Teacher-Online Learning
jmn1nc@northcantonschools.org
Rachelle Ogilvie - View Bio
Teacher
rao1nc@northcantonschools.org
Phil Ogilvie
Culinary Arts Instructor
ogilviep@northcantonschools.org
Rhonda Pappas - View Bio
Monitor
rap1nc@northcantonschools.org
Katelyn Paul - View Bio
Intervention Specialist
paulk@northcantonschools.org
Carla Phelps - View Bio
Intervention Specialist 9-12
cmp1nc@northcantonschools.org
Dennis Philippi - View Bio
Monitor and Bus Driver
philippid@northcantonschools.org
Jeff Pickle - View Bio
9th Grade Physical Science Teacher
jtp1nc@northcantonschools.org
Nick Plazak - View Bio
Biomedical Science HBS (PLTW), Human Anatomy and Physiology Teacher & Biology Teacher
ngp1nc@northcantonschools.org
Andy Rankin - View Bio
English Teacher
ar1nc@northcantonschools.org
Timothy Roach - View Bio
Sophomore English Teacher
tjr1nc@northcantonschools.org
Matthew Roshak - View Bio
Math Teacher
roshakma@northcantonschools.org
Jessica Rosson - View Bio
Math Teacher
rossonj@northcantonschools.org
Erika Ruch - View Bio
Health and Physical Education Teacher
eme1nc@northcantonschools.org
Larry Salinas
Teacher Aide
lls1nc@northcantonschools.org
Jeff Sarbaugh - View Bio
Social Studies Teacher
jms1nc@northcantonschools.org
Susan Schilling - View Bio
French teacher
schillis@northcantonschools.org
Tyler Schuller - View Bio

schullert@northcantonschools.org
Don Shimek - View Bio
Athletic Director
dws1nc@northcantonschools.org
Kimberly Solosky - View Bio
Profesora de español
soloskyk@northcantonschools.org
Christine Staudinger

staudingerc@northcantonschools.org
Nick Stroemple - View Bio
Teacher
stroemplen@northcantonschools.org
Pat Topper
Librarian
topperp@northcantonschools.org
Christopher Triner - View Bio
Art Teacher / District Art Dept. Chair
cjt1nc@northcantonschools.org
Ron Varn - View Bio
Instrumental Music Department Chair/Band and Orchestra Director
rcv1nc@northcantonschools.org
Kaitlyn Virden - View Bio
ISGI
virdenk@northcantonschools.org
Tiffany Walker - View Bio
English Teacher
tnw1nc@northcantonschools.org
Melissa Warther - View Bio
Intervention Specialist
wartherm@northcantonschools.org
Adam Wile - View Bio
Teacher
wilea@northcantonschools.org
Debbie Wiley - View Bio
Mathematics Teacher
daw1nc@northcantonschools.org
Patsy Williams - View Bio
H.S. Monitor/Bus Driver
williamp@northcantonschools.org
Tom Wilson
​Coordinator of District Media, Video-Journalism​, TV-11​
thw1nc@northcantonschools.org
Steve Wood - View Bio
Science Instructor
sjw1nc@northcantonschools.org
Darrell Woods - View Bio
Physics Teacher, Teen Institute advisor, Drama and Improv Club advisor
dsw1nc@northcantonschools.org
Jessica Zettler - View Bio
Intervention Specialist (9-12)/English teacher, Assistant Varsity Girl's Lacrosse Coach, and Chess Club Advisor
zettlerj@northcantonschools.org
Jian Zhao


 

 

Warning Bell

7:30a

Period 1

7:35a

Period 2

8:22a

Announcements

9:09a

Period 3

9:09a

Period 4

10:03a

Period 5a (Lunch)

10:50a

Period 5b (Lunch)

11:12a

Period 6a (Lunch)

11:38a

Period 6b (Lunch)

12:00p

Period 7a (Lunch)

12:26p

Period 7b (Lunch)

12:48p

Period 8

1:13p

Period 9

2:00p

When North Canton City Schools issues a weather delay, Hoover High School will operate on a 2.5 hour delay — the starting time will move to 10:05a. If you've registered with the North Canton City Schools Messenger Notification System, you will receive a call and/or email regarding any weather-related delays or cancellations. You can also visit this website or tune into the following media outlets:

  • WHBC AM/FM
  • Channel 11
  • Canton Repository on-line daily news